Surprise, Surprise

~ DISCLAIMER: I mean the following to be takenin a combination
of good humor and sarcasm, and has been further edited~

Unless you’ve been under a rock for the last 12 hours or have managed to ignore all major news reports (lucky you!), Here’s the “Next Big Thing”:

Albus Dumbledore is Gay.

Part of me has the inkling that this is going to ruffle quite a few feathers send the Harry Potter Series skyrocketing to the top 5 of “The Most Frequently Banned Books of 2007 / 2008 / The 21st Century” (As if witchcraft, magic, cultural diversity, promotion of inter-racial couples, the idea of questioning authority, social violence, crude language, blatant stabs at politics and political figures, and the fact that it is a well-written coming-of-age tale weren’t enough!*)

“I had to give you something to talk about for the next 10 years…Just imagine the fan fiction now.” J.K. Rowling later said. I would hate to believe that such revelations of Dumbledore being gay would lead to the accusations that J.K.R. is trying to brainwash our youth into acceptance of others (heaven forbid!) or that she is insinuating that gay (Dumbledore) is good and not-gay (Voldemort – did he even have a preference?) is bad. Questions have arisen as to whetheror not the question was “planted” in the discussion just so JKR could seek more camera time. I don’t think this is the case, but I’ve been wrong before.

Some could also argue that if this new information changes anyone’s views on Dumbledore, his character and his role in the books as a whole, then that person must be judged as prejudiced. I don’t think this fair, either. Of course new information should change your views on things! I know I stopped and thought about all the “hints” that were given… does that mean that I look down upon the Headmaster now, or that I idolize him? No. He’s still Dumbledore, and all that entails. He just has a story now. I think this has added a meat to the series that was never there before.

 

*All of the listed are “problems” for one culture or another. I myself am against none of the above.

Published in: on October 20, 2007 at 10:38 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://noveldame.wordpress.com/2007/10/20/surprise-surprise/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Get in trouble? Nah… Book censorship is such an ambiguous thing… not only your stereotypical groups may jump on this one, but what about some groups uncomfortable (but quiet) in the past. Censorship comes from many different kinds of groups — you’d be surprised that it is much broader than the usual suspects. Will they, too, join the ‘restrict the Potter books’ in school libraries? But, tolerance is a two way street, people have their opinions — and, they are passionate about them. How lucky we are to be able to express our opinions and champion our cause. This is just another wonderful opportunity for parents to read WITH their children, discuss stories, life, and real-world topics. I’m curious as to the stats on kids’ reading Harry Potter (and all similar genres) since the first book came out. I think that Rowling has awakened [new] readership in a way that many never could. Do you think her book sales will go down with this revelation? …or increase? My bet is on the latter.

  2. ^^ I love this – I love how everyone thinks it’s a big deal. Who cares, really, in the long run? He never really was hitting on anybody, and he had problems of his own. This just makes him a little more human.

    However, the fanfictions that hit the net almost two seconds after this announcement… o.0′ You don’t want to know.

    Anyways, I was wondering if you’d like to do a book talk video with me for the tech fair? I’m thinking the Snicket series. 😀


Leave a comment