They Remain in the Shadows

 

Mohawk, originally uploaded by lib-lab.

Since I got to take a glance at my reading list, I present you with a list from the list.

Honorable Mentions of 2008:

Colleges That Change Lives, Loren Pope
         
I adore this book simply because it was such a great reference. It is well organized, informative and brutally honest. You really get to figure out if a college is right for you or not. Note: Pick this up when you’re a junior, because EVERYONE will be trying to get into these colleges.

Sexing the Cherry, Jeanette Winterson
          I got the chance to read this right before I graduated, and it is the weirdest book I’ve ever read, and one of the most memorable. If you really want to get out of your head and just dive into a book, This is for you. Then spend weeks reading interpretations on it, and find all the allusions… its deep. And pay attention to the pictures in it, they say a lot.

The Long, Dark Teatime of the Soul, Douglas Adams
          Its Douglas Adams, people. There’s Norse Gods, and a Holistic Detective, and british humor. I recommend reading it right after Sexing the Cherry.

The Private Albert Einstein, Peter S. Bucky
          This really sheds a lot of light on Einstein’s actual life, rather than what he’s memorable for. It goes beyond hours of equations and into his hobbies, letters he wrote, his habits, even his laugh. It paint Einstein to be the kind of guy you want as your Grandfather or your best friend. My favorite fact: He loved sailing for most of his life but couldn’t swim a stroke.

Candy Girl, Diablo Cody
          This threw me off in a big way. Its written by the gal who write Juno, and she becomes a stripper. A) to see if the can, B) because she’s bored with her day job. Honestly. Its a really interesting book, but she holds nothing back. Its not presented in a trashy way, its just truth. A good read, but only for those with a brave stomach. She meets some really strange folks…

Yarn Harlot, Stephanie Pearl-McPhee
         
I’m a knitter, too. I’m a Reader, and I’m a knitter. This is the most amazing book I’ve ever come across. Its funny, if you’re a knitter. If you’re not, don’t bother; you just won’t get it. Its not to exclude you or anything, you just have to be a certain breed of batty to get jokes about wool.

 

 

 

          That’s it. That’s All, folks. Thats really it… the rest weren’t that great, or are getting an entry all their own. Ok, you’re done.            That means go home.   now.

Published in: on October 4, 2008 at 4:12 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://noveldame.wordpress.com/2008/10/04/they-remain-in-the-shadows/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Great review! Thanks! Am reading on my BB while waiting to work the Broncos game as a fundraiser for cheer.

    Now I want p go buy a few of those.

  2. Novel Dame! Girl, where have you been?

    I was glad to read your list;as always, you had some fascinating choices. I had heard of Sexing the Cherry. It will go on my summer or deep of winter reading list.
    Your other picks I had not heard of. The Albert Einstein will be a welcome relief during the winter months as well.

    Keep those suggestions coming! One of these days I might have time to read them all.


Leave a Reply

