Waiting for War

 

statue, originally uploaded by createsimona.

I stepped out of my literary comfort zone yet again this Spring Break. I’ve never been into that whole Knights-of-the-Round-Table-Damsels-in-Distress genre, but I came across a paperback that was rather intriguing. The back of The Book of Mordred simply stated:

 In the tradition of Arthurian legend, Mordred has been characterized as a buffoon, a false knight, and a bloodthirsty traitor. The Book of Mordred reveals a mysterious man through the eyes of three women who love him.

How can you not be enthralled by something like that? Adventure, a soiled name, a love story…

It was better than I expected. I’m considering reading Vivian Vande Velde’s other works to see if theyre just as pleasant. Not that the storyline was pleasant – far from it. If anything, it was juicy. Soaked in the darker aspects of life like despair and betrayal. What I enjoyed the most is the portrayal of our hero, Mordred. He is an imperfect knight which made him all the more likeable in my eyes. Come time for the end, I cried. I admit it. I got as attached to Mordred as the lovely ladies who told their tales did.

Herein lies the problem: I enjoyed this novel immensely! And I fear that I will neglect my top shelf even further in favor of dazzling tales about Arthur and Sir Gawain… Will my books have to wage war for my attention? I see books gnashing their blindings, shredded pages cast away.

No, no. Sir Gawain can wait, I suppose.  (sigh)

Published in: on April 5, 2008 at 2:58 pm  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://noveldame.wordpress.com/2008/04/05/waiting-for-war/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Hey Novel Dame!

    I tagged you in a book meme. Check out my last blog post for more info.

  2. Hello,

    Lovely blog. Elegant.

    Cheers,

    Jules

  3. My mother loved that book, so maybe I should read that one. Have you ever read The Once and Future King? It’s the best Arthur book I’ve ever read.

  4. Vivian Vande Velde is one of my permanent favorite authors. And that is, I believe, the one book of hers I haven’t read. (Although if you ever get a yen to return to Camelot, I recommend A Squire’s Tale by Gerald Morris. And then the rest of that series.)


Leave a Reply

