Another Step Forward

(Like the picture? There was no way I’d use this otherwise, and I really enjoy it.)

Thank Newsweek for this Idea. While doing a large amount of research, I came across one of their weekly blurbs and decided I really didn’t know what my own answers would be. So, putting myself on the spot, I present you with nothing but honesty, dear readers…

MY FIVE MOST IMPORTANT BOOKS

  • Black Beauty by Anna Sewell. The autobiography of a horse as he grows from foal to workhorse to retirement, with the short chapters giving lessons in cruelty, kindness and sympathy. I loved this book when I was very young and read it maybe four times (which was quite a feat for not having met the challenges of fifth grade yet). I remember having nothing but love for Black Beauty and the way in which he spoke to me.
  • 1984 by George Orwell. Winston Smith lives a life in dictatorship. It its a cautionary tale against totalitarian mentalities and invasive surveillance. I didn’t get to this book until freshman year, and it chilled me for months. It stayed with me long enough to encourage the devouring of more Orwellian works and taught me that, until then, I was foolishly unaware of my world. If I wasn’t careful, I too would become subject to Big Brother.
  • The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky. Charlie begins high school in the 70’s and learns that there is much to be gained by experiencing life instead of watching from the sidelines. It deals with the issues of gays, premarital sex, drugs, abortions, molestation, young love and growing up. Of course this is on here. The last four years of my life are found in these pages, I kid you not. There are notes in red pen, passages underlined. More than anything, I know what its like to feel infinite and I hold onto those moments tighter than ever, because they never last long enough. Charlie knew from the start what I had to learn.
  • Ishmael by Daniel Quinn. A man responds to an ad in the paper; “TEACHER seeks pupil. Must have an earnest desire to save the world. Must apply in person.” The cover claims ‘an adventure of mind and spirit’ and it tells no lies. If you want to save the world, there is nothing that can prepare to for what you’re about to learn. Yes, learn not read. You cannot finish this book and go back to who you were before, I promise. I was changed, and I hold this book close to my heart.
  • Postsecret by Frank Warren. PostSecret is an ongoing community art project where people mail
    in their secrets anonymously on one side of a homemade postcard.
    This spot was hard to fill, believe it or not. I chose this because it has become a hobby, a therapy and an obsession for me. I review the website once or twice a week (usually Sundays) and I own all the books. I enjoy reading – seeing – other people’s secrets because they usually say what I cannot. It makes me feel a little less crazy, a little less alone.

IMPORTANT BOOKS I HAVEN’T READ:

  • Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day –Judith Viorst. I have days like this, too, and it’s okay Alexander.
  • The Bible. I should. I know. But for now, I’m ok with browsing. Maybe I’ll get to it after War and Peace.
  • Anna Karenina – Leo Tolsoy. Hey! Its on my top shelf! I’ll get there…
Published in: on April 4, 2008 at 8:36 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://noveldame.wordpress.com/2008/04/04/another-step-forward/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Thanks for posting this! I’ve been lazy in my reading lately, and a few good suggestions should push me towards the bookstore again…


Leave a Reply

