Something is Missing


broken statue 1
Originally uploaded by tabascoshot

I’m torn. I have read both Franny and Zooey and The Catcher in the Rye and I am still unable to decide whether or not I adore J.D. Salinger, or just his books. Because of this, I have again broken my “To-Read Shelf Only” rule and picked up Nine Stories. I fell in love with Zooey, wanted to murder Holden, and I’m still in the same predicament with each of the nine stories!

This whole decision process was brought on by the frequent references to Nine Stories in an old read,  Hard Love. Here’s what it breaks down to: I wasn’t impressed with “A Perfect Day for Bananafish”, a dark part of me that I’d rather ignore was touched by “Uncle Wiggly in Connecticut”, I adored “Just Before the War with the Eskimos” and “The Laughing Man”, and that is as far as I’ve gotten… based on the 4 I’ve read, I’m still split right down the middle…

Oh Drat. Maybe my problem is that I just don’t “get” Salinger like other people. . . no, according to Wikipedia, I get it well enough.

I’ll let you know what the final tally is, if you really care.

Published in: on February 9, 2008 at 11:32 am  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://noveldame.wordpress.com/2008/02/09/in-progress-2/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. […] finished Nine Stories by J.D. Salinger, and when I left you, dear reader, I had read only read four of the nine, and was still split on whether I liked J.D. […]


Leave a Reply

