That Falling Feeling


Breakup Ceremony
Originally uploaded by Jonathan Purvis

My wonderful fairy godmothers have diagnosed a new condition in which the brain “dribbles out of the ears”. If it is contagious, then I am infected. Symptoms were most likely triggered by my most recent adventure, becoming a contributor to Students2.0! The last few weeks have been wonderful. Insane. Complicated.

You might have noticed that the title changed. I’m happier with it than I was, but it still isn’t right. Expect it to change again.

Now, I have finished my third book of the year. It is neither The Story of B nor is it High Fidelity. It was not found on the infamous top shelf. Less than 30 days into 2008 and I have already broken my resolution. That’s the way books go, I guess. In any case, book 3 was an interesting read, like nothing I’ve ever come across.

A Bad Boy can be Good for a Girl is not a book that I recommend for anyone over the age of 16. It isn’t meant to be deep or philosophical, but it has a wonderful message. At a little over 200 pages, it tells the story of three girls who fall for the same guy (predictable, I know) though free-form poetry. I found all the characters to be very stereotypical.

In its defense, I found it to be honest, heart-felt, etc. I related to it quite well, which I hate to admit on some level. Yes, three very different girls do fall for “the jerk”, and it is this quality of the book that I wholeheartedly attach myself to. It isn’t “chick lit”, and it is no He’s Just Not That Into You, but misery loves company, and it brought me back to days I’d still rather forget about.

Sometimes it’s nice to open old wounds, you know. Perhaps bad boys can be good for a girl, but not in ways we expect. You get to sit and think about how those terrible events made you who you are, and if it was really worth it in the end. I may not ever read it again, and I may never find someone who would appreciate this book on the level I did, but I do have a sense of adoration for this short little novel. I’ve dated jerks, and I’ve gotten burned. Tanya Lee Stone presented me with a voice that made me pause and realize exactly how far I’ve come since then, and what an amazing person I’ve become because of everything I’ve had to go through.

 Dearest readers, this is what books are all about! Inspiring someone! evoking emotion! There are many definitions of success in terms of writing, but one of the most universal is the sense of accomplishment one gets when a book speaks. Whether to a culture, a person, or an idea, success is knowing someone found a message in something you said. Like the girls in the novel, I walked away from the experience thinking I’m going to be okay.  I hope you read this and pick up the book so you can find something admirable in it as well.

Published in: on January 29, 2008 at 12:57 pm  Comments (5)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://noveldame.wordpress.com/2008/01/29/that-falling-feeling/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Ah Novel Dame,
    Your depth of soul never ceases to amaze me!

  2. I agree. Sometimes a bad boy can be good for a girl. But likewise I wonder if a bad girl can be good for a boy.

  3. Have you read What My Mother Doesn’t Know? It’s also written in free verse. I enjoyed it, though it is the type of book that bridges on chick lit.

    I’ll definitely have to read A Bad Boy can be Good for a Girl . I love the free verse style narrative.

  4. I agree that books are about inspiring and evoking emotion in readers. Your posts always speak to the power of books, thinking for oneself, and of words.

    You have been so busy learning and creating; it is a beautiful thing to watch unfold! You remind me of one of my favorite quotes:

    Whatever you do, or dream you can, begin it.
    Boldness has genius, power, and magic in it.
    —Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

  5. […] in books have left me emotionally drained, with plenty to think about. Hard Love greatly resembled A Bad Boy Can Be Good For a Girl, but it was the guy’s story, and he gets hurt. It is full of teen angst, emotional masks, […]


Leave a Reply

