To Have and to Hold

     I’m doing it again: I have managed to wake myself up to write another entry. Have you ever found yourself protecting a book from harm not because you felt the parchment itself was in danger, but because you wished no harm to come to fictional characters? Tonight’s entry began with a rather interesting conversation I had during class with a good friend of mine. It began with books we loved, followed by characters we loved, and somehow that progressed to Characters We Wouldn’t Mind Being Married To:

  (NOTE: My list is substantially shorter than hers)

      * Atticus Finch, To Kill a Mockingbird: If you have ever read Harper Lee’s frequently-banned novel (as most high school sophomores have), then you know why he is at the top of my list. His entire character is based on integrity, and he serves as an ideal role model for children and lawyers alike. He is humble and honest, accepts himself, yet somehow still manages to not force his values on others while trying to change things for the better. This is a delicate thing, and I still haven’t quite figured out how it was achieved, but he is admirable nonethless.

* Mortimer Folchart, Inkheart/Inkspell: Although Inkheart is both of Young Adult and Fantasy nature, I still find this devoted father to be a wonderful addition. As a Bookbinder by trade, he passes his passion for the possession, care and repair of books along to his young daughter Meggie. In the novel, he earns the nickname “Silvertongue” because he has been blessed with the gift of being able to read anything out of a book. This becomes a problem – and the basis of the plot line – when he reads out the villain of a strange book. There are little things dropped within the pages of Cornelia Funke’s intriguing trilogy (Inkdeath to be released 2008) that lets you know exactly what kind of values Mortimer chooses to embody and creates an interesting conflict between men like himself, and the men read from books.

* Charlie, The Perks of Being a Wallflower: Call me silly for this one, because even I admit that Charlie embodies very few ideals associated with the characters mentioned above. If nothing else, Charlie would be fun to have around simply for conversation. I have had to pick apart the book over the last three weeks in order to complete a class project, and I have been picking up even more revealing bits of information than I previously had. Charlie is heartwarmingly honest,  innocently humorous and naive to exactly how insightful he is. He’s devoted to family and friends, and takes something from everything he does, be it a lesson, a story, a trinket.

I’m sure there’s more… its much to late to think now. Best wishes, and never trust someone anyone doesn’t carry a book (Lemony Snicket).

Published in: on December 14, 2007 at 12:40 am  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://noveldame.wordpress.com/2007/12/14/to-have-and-to-hold/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Oh, see what you do, Novel Dame? I am just getting through my stack of books to read and you post another intriguing piece of a story. Now I must move Inkheart and Inkspell, by Cornelia Funke, to the top of my list for the break.

  2. Oh my dear Novel Dame! What insight you and your friends possess. In all my years of reading; discussing; and writing about books, I have never once had the discussion of which characters I wouldn’t mind having as my spouse. Hmmm I must go back and look at several books and reassess the men! I do agree that both Atticus Finch and Mortimer Flowchart have attributes I find admirable in a mate. This entry has lead to an interesting discussion with Flora; we would like to know your opinion of the male protagonist in “The Thorn Birds” by Colleen McCullough, seems we both had a crush on this man! You are accomplishing a wonderful thing in you Blog; you share ideas that then bring forth discussions.

  3. I understand how you feel in that manner. I don’t think though I would go as far as to name off characters that I would marry. But I do know a lot of characters that I would love to be friends with. One character that I think I would like to be together with is Maximum Ride from (you guessed it) Maximum Ride. She’s strong, smart, selfless, loving, caring, and good looking from what the book portrays. Everything that I want in a girl and there she is.


Leave a Reply

