A Book on What NOT to Do.

I’m sorry for not posting sooner; its been a crazy week. Ive been trying to throw my halloween costume together in a last-minute fashion, I’ve been doing volunteer work for a club I’m in until late into the evening, and I find irony in the fact that I have  free time to blog at work.

I picked up The Almost Moon last week and I’m finding it hard to read for a prolonged period. Not because its poorly written or boring (not so!) but because it is so heavy with emotions, symbolism and messages, and just a very graphic read in general.

“When all is said and done, killing my mother came easily.” That is how bluntly this novel starts. it becomes a tilt-a-whirl read of the next 24 hours in which Helen Knightly attempts to dispose of the body, and through narration she relives her miserable childhood, equally bitter young-adulthood (during which the elephant in the room is finally named ‘mother’s mental illness’) and her failed escape from her mother during adulthood. 

Helen herself is obviously a bit unhinged, and admits to accepting it; “When was it that you realized the thread woven through your DNA carried the relationship deformaties of your blood relatives as much as it did their diabetes or bone density?” Despite her acceptance of the fact that she is very much like her mother, the narration of her childhood shows that she still finds it hard to admit that she is the product of a tormented – and eventually suicidal – father and an agoraphobic mother. 

I find myself asking questions when she begins to inform people of her actions that I shouldn’t be; like “if everyone else is sane, why don’t they call the police?” But like attracts like, and I hate to assume that the supporting roles are entirely flawless characters. I’m enjoying the book, despite the blatant morbidity and other means of misconduct that prevent the reader from cheering for the heroine.

Published in: on October 27, 2007 at 10:48 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://noveldame.wordpress.com/2007/10/27/a-book-on-what-not-to-do/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

