Something or Other

So sorry for not updating sooner, I had the opportunity to play hookie from responsibility and went fishing with my sister; a lovely combination of the few things that could tear me away from a good book.

My fairy godmothers have made a few more books flutter onto my forever-fluctuating pile on my nightstand, and I am happy to say that I have actually finished two books this weekend, so lets get those out of the way.
As reported earlier, Briar Rose was an – I want to refrain from saying ‘cute’ – endearing novel that was more about family, the the history which binds together and the idea that everyone has a story than it was about the fairytale itself or the Holocaust survivor’s tale that it turned into. I was neither impressed nor disappointed, and I do not regret picking it up. I think one of the details I found most impressive was that, for comfort, the narrator had a habit of retreating into her well-thumbed copy of Beauty by Robin McKinley, which I have also read (and thoroughly enjoyed).
And I also found Extras by Scott Westerfield to be a quick read, and mildly amusing, though not nearly as enthralling as I found the other three books (Uglies, Pretties, Specials) to be. It takes place a year after book 3, in a completely different city, with a government based on reputation and popularity. It involves those that strive to be popular and those that strive to be invisible. Its not until well into the book that old faces arise, and even then, they don’t seem to be the same characters I remember them as. As a book, its a recommended read, but as part of the series, you’re better of leaving it alone. I think my favorite quote from the whole thing is “Life’s not like some Rusty movie… There’s not just one big story that makes the rest of us disappear.” Makes me want to be a Sly Girl, too.

Back to Teen Read Week:
To make up for yesterday’s lack of a blog, I’ll just review a whole series!
The Georgia Nicolson Series by Louise Rennison is on the top of my list when it comes to humorous books. Set in England, it follows a British teen through the trials of growing up: bras, thongs, boyfriends and everything else. There will definitely be some British terms involved that will leave most Americans with a raised eyebrow or two, but after a few pages the terms are understood. Its not the stuff Classics are made of, but its a light read that is most favorable after a book with a heavy plot or message that sticks with you. I don’t recommend it for older generations because parts of it are rather immature, and best skipped over.

Published in: on October 16, 2007 at 9:22 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://noveldame.wordpress.com/2007/10/16/26/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Noveldame, you rock! Your blog is fabulous and supports my belief that the best writers are well read.

    I have not yet read Briar Rose, but will begin it this weekend. I have always heard that it is good. Now it has moved up through my long list of ” To Read.”
    I will definitely check out your “My Favorite Books” list. I know we have at least one in common and likely many more!


Leave a Reply

