In the Beginning…

Once upon a time, there was a bookworm. She read many, many books, and treasured them all. She made many, many lists, but she never knew what to do with them. Until one day, a fairy godmother came to her with a quest. “Use your passion to change the world!” she said. And so the little bookworm set out to do just that.

And here I am. My goal is to turn at least one person onto reading. I hear so many people say “I don’t like reading” and I say you haven’t found the right book yet. I hear “I’m a slow reader” and I say slow runners don’t get faster by sitting down. What do you have to lose by trying?

The goal of this blog is to eventually be an entry in the 2008 Technology Fair (see link) but the purpose of this is to be a method of communication and education between peers. Maybe that’s getting a little technical… here’s what we’re going to do. I’m going to talk about books. Thats all. I’ll have book lists, and recommendations and reviews. That DOES NOT mean I’ll be writing a book report for each one, or that you can take what I say and turn it into a teacher. I’ll try to make it a different take on a book each entry. Now, if there comes a time when you don’t agree with something I write, PLEASE say so. This is meant to be a method of communication. That being said…

I’m now taking requests. You name the book, I’ll read it, then I’ll write about it. Its that simple. What do YOU want to see reviewed?

Published in: on October 10, 2007 at 3:59 am  Comments (7)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://noveldame.wordpress.com/2007/10/10/in-the-beginning/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Read “The Alchemist” says one student.

  2. I think I’ve already said this, but Maximum Ride is a great book series. The first one is Maximum Ride: the Angel Experiment. And just so you know I am a slow reader.

  3. Dear Reader-Extraordinaire,

    This is AWESOME. I’m just about finished reading “The Brief History of the Dead” by Kevin Brockmeier. What a premise! I’m very interested in hearing what you thought of the book. I promise I won’t read your review until I’ve finished — I don’t want to know what happens yet.

    Thanks for doing this incredible blog!

  4. Hey there babe.
    It’s me. ……of course.

    I’ve never even heard of WordPress… It looks like Blogger, which I hate, so eh. I thought you were on Blogger for a moment.

    What is WordPress for? Readers/librarians?
    Add my livejournal to your links and I’ll add your… wordpress thing.

    Or my dA account, but that’s different.

    +hugs+

  5. Hi,

    I came across your blog and think its great! I am the type of person that stands in a bookstore for hours, trying to decide what to read. I am always busy, so when I finally settle down to read, I want it to be something good!

    Now I am going to consider you a resource for what I should read! I am at work right now (I work in downtown Denver) and I can’t remember the names of a couple books I’ve read recently that I really liked. I will check tonight and write to you again tomorrow. Hopefully you have already read them, or will be interested in trying them out! I’ll be in touch! Thanks for creating this site!

  6. Not only are you a stellar reader, you write descriptively as well. I will add several of your reads to my every increasing list.

  7. ok, I checked and my recent reads are: The Bartimaeus Trilogy by Jonathan Stroud (excellent…very well written and extremely creative) and The Traveler by John Twelve Hawks (great premise, very interesting).

    As for books I’d have on my island: anything by Janet Evanovich, Great Expectations by Charles Dickens, and Romeo and Juliet by Shakespeare. If you haven’t read Great Expectations, I would definitely recommend it.


Leave a Reply

